Picture
Judge Judith Gische
Are you kidding me? So Judge Judith Gische from New York has decided in a 21 page ruling that due to a lack of funding available, the Advantage Program in NYC can definitely be terminated. This program provides rent subsidies to help homeless people transition from emergency shelters in NCY. Now I think I can pull out a sneak peek from my novel so you can see where I'm exactly coming from. But before that, let me share with you what the Legal Aid Society attorney Steven Banks thinks about this whole thing, according to Reuters. Attorney Steven Banks believes that  if NYC does end up cutting these rent subsidies, the city can wind up paying even more to shelter those homeless families, after all.

I personally believe that homeless transitional programs are extremely good, and I also think that they could potentially even help reduce crime in the streets. Now, the Legal Aid Society plans on appealing the ruling. Although payments will not stop immediately, still, a decision for now has been made. Let's spread the word and create more awareness on this case! Check out my never before seen unedited and unpolished sneak peek related to this post:
Picture
Picture
Picture
Thanks for reading! Share your views!

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.


var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-19927794-1']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '.google-analytics.com/ga.js'; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();